Startseite » News & Events » Archiv » IPEK at the EAS Congress 2023

IPEK at the EAS Congress 2023

We are very happy to share our Institute's active participation at the European Atherosclerosis Society Congress 2023 in Mannheim. Many members of the institute made significant contributions to the conference, showcasing their latest research and commitment to advancing cardiovascular science.

Director Christian Weber delivered the conference keynote lecture on chemokine signaling in atherosclerosis, providing an overview of the most recent work from our institute while IPEK group leaders Sabine Steffens chaired a workshop on the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis, focusing on vascular homeostasis and calcification and Esther Lutgens gave a talk on "Immune checkpoints in atherosclerosis" at the Young Fellows session, shedding light on immunological aspects of the disease.

Noteworthy achievements include junior group leader Sarojo Mohanta from the Habenicht Lab receiving the Basic Science Young Investigator Award for his work on neural cardiovascular interfaces in atherosclerosis, this recognition coming just after he received the prestigious German Atherosclerosis Society Hauss-Award, Emiel P. Van Der Vorst being a Young Investigator Fellowship finalist for his research on microRNA-26B in cardio-metabolic diseases, and PhD student Aishvaryaa Prabhu from the Steffens lab receiving recognition for her talk on endothelial cannabinoid receptor-1. PostDoc scientist Laura Parma from the Duchene Megens Lab participated in the poster session, presenting her research on the role of the CXCL12/CXCR4 axis in atherosclerotic plaque instability.

IPEK alumni, Alma Zernecke-Madsen, Raquel Guillamat Prats, and Sanne L. Maas, made significant contributions with their presentations on leukocyte diversity, T-cell networks, and plaque inflammation.

We extend our gratitude to the organizers and attendees for making the congress a resounding success, providing a platform for IPEK to showcase innovative research and engage in valuable scientific discussions.






EAS Congress 2023

Kenynote Lecture

EAS Young Investigator Awards 2023

Hauss Prize