Lab Publications

IL-27 induces Th17 differentiation in the absence of STAT1 signaling

J Immunol. 2015 Nov 1;195(9):4144-53. doi: 10.4049/jimmunol.1302246

IL-27 is a regulatory cytokine which induces a lot of phosphorylated (p) STAT1 and some pSTAT3 and is known to inhibit Th17 differentiation. Here we show that the ratio of pSTAT1:pSTAT3 is crucial for the differentiation process and allows predictions of how cytokines (or cytokine combinations) will influence the differentiation process. This explains why in the absence of STAT1 IL-27 does not inhibit but in fact promotes Th17 differentiation. [more...]
 

Th1, Th17, and Th9 effector cells induce experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis with different pathological phenotypes

J Immunol. 2009 Dec 1;183(11):7169-77. doi: 10.4049/jimmunol.0901906

Here we have developed a protocol to generate pure MOG-specific T helper cell subsets in vitro and test their encephalitogenic capacity upon transfer. Thus, we could demonstrate that Th1, Th17 and Th9 cells all can induce severe EAE with different pathological phenotypes independent of each other. [more...]
 

Cutting edge: IL-23 receptor gfp reporter mice reveal distinct populations of IL-17-producing cells

J Immunol. 2009 May 15;182(10):5904-8. doi: 10.4049/jimmunol.0900732

Through generation of an IL-23 receptor (KI) reporter mouse we show that IL-23 receptor is expressed on T helper cells, γδ T cells, and subsets of myeloid cells. Furthermore, we demonstrate that IL-23 signaling is absolutely required for generation of pathogenic Th17 cells in EAE. [more...]
 

Th17 cells induce ectopic lymphoid follicles in CNS tissue inflammation

Immunity. 2011 Dec 23;35(6):986-96. doi: 10.1016/j.immuni.2011.10.015

In this article we show, that Th17 cells but not other T cell subsets induce formation of ectopic lymphoid follicles (eLFs) in the CNS during EAE and that the surface protein Podoplanin, which is involved in formation of secondary lymphoid structures, is also important for eLF formation in the CNS. [more...]
 

Tertiary Lymphoid Organs in Central Nervous System Autoimmunity

Front Immunol. 2016 Oct 25;7:451. eCollection 2016. doi: 10.3389/fimmu.2016.00451

In this review article we summarize the current data about tertiary lymphoid structures in the CNS in MS and EAE. [more...]
 

Podoplanin negatively regulates CD4+ effector T cell responses

J Clin Invest. 2015 Jan;125(1):129-40. doi: 10.1172/JCI74685

Here we investigate the role of the surface protein Podoplanin in T helper cells and show that it acts as an inhibitory molecule. Podoplanin is primarily expressed on T helper cells that infiltrate the target tissue, such as the CNS during EAE. It serves to limit survival of effector T cells in the tissues and thereby contributes to resolution of inflammation and maintenance of tissue tolerance. [more...]

Ausgewählte Publikationen

IL-27 induces Th17 differentiation in the absence of STAT1 signaling

J Immunol. 2015 Nov 1;195(9):4144-53. doi: 10.4049/jimmunol.1302246

IL-27 ist ein regulatorisches Zytokin, welches große Mengen phosphoryliertes (p) STAT1 und kleine Mengen pSTAT3 induziert und die Differenzierung von Th17 Zellen inhibiert. Hier konnten wir zeigen, dass für den Differenzierungsprozess das Verhältnis von pSTAT1 zu pSTAT3 von übergeordneter Bedeutung ist und Vorhersagen über den Einfluss verschiedener Zytokine auf die Th17 Differenzierung erlaubt. Dies erklärt, warum IL-27 in Abwesenheit von STAT1 die Differenzierung von pathogenen Th17 Zellen nicht inhibiert, sondern sogar unterstützt. [mehr...]
 

Th1, Th17, and Th9 effector cells induce experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis with different pathological phenotypes

J Immunol. 2009 Dec 1;183(11):7169-77. doi: 10.4049/jimmunol.0901906

Hier haben wir eine Methode entwickelt, reine MOG-spezifische T Zell Subtypen in Kultur zu differenzieren und ihr enzephalitogenes Potential durch Transfer zu testen. So konnten wir beweisen, dass Th1, Th17 und auch Th9 Zellen unabhängig voneinander schwere autoimmune Entzündung mit unterschiedlichen pathologischen Phänotypen im ZNS auslösen können. [mehr...]
 

Cutting edge: IL-23 receptor gfp reporter mice reveal distinct populations of IL-17-producing cells

J Immunol. 2009 May 15;182(10):5904-8. doi: 10.4049/jimmunol.0900732

Mit Hilfe einer IL-23 Rezeptor Reporter (knock in) Maus zeigen wir hier, dass der Rezeptor für IL-23 sowohl auf T Helferzellen, als auch auf γδ T Zellen und auf manchen myeloiden Zellen zu finden ist. Außerdem zeigen wir, dass IL-23 Signale für die Generation pathogener T Zellen in der EAE unverzichtbar sind. [mehr...]
 

Th17 cells induce ectopic lymphoid follicles in CNS tissue inflammation

Immunity. 2011 Dec 23;35(6):986-96. doi: 10.1016/j.immuni.2011.10.015

In diesem Artikel konnten wir zeigen, dass im Vergleich zu anderen T Zell Subtypen nur die Th17 Zellen die Bildung von ektopischen lymphoiden Follikeln (eLFs) im ZNS begünstigt, und dass das Oberflächenprotein Podoplanin, welches für die Ausbildung sekundärer Lymphorgane wichtig ist, auch bei der Bildung von eLFs eine Rolle spielt. [mehr...]
 

Tertiary Lymphoid Organs in Central Nervous System Autoimmunity

Front Immunol. 2016 Oct 25;7:451. eCollection 2016. doi: 10.3389/fimmu.2016.00451

In diesem Review Artikel fassen wir den aktuellen Stand der Erkenntnisse zu tertiären lymphoiden Strukturen im ZNS in MS und EAE zusammen. [mehr...]
 

Podoplanin negatively regulates CD4+ effector T cell responses

J Clin Invest. 2015 Jan;125(1):129-40. doi: 10.1172/JCI74685

Hier untersuchen wir die Rolle des Oberflächenproteins Podoplanin auf T Helferzellen und konnten zeigen, dass Podoplanin als inhibitorisches Molekül fungiert. Es wird vor allem auf CD4+ T Zellen exprimiert, die in das Zielorgan einwandern, wie z.B. ins ZNS bei der EAE. Dort limitiert Podoplanin das Überleben der Effektor T Zellen und trägt so zum Abklingen der Entzündung bei. [mehr...]
 
 
EN