Ward B2 | Specialist ward for schizophrenias and other psychotic illnesses


Doctor in charge

PD Dr. med. A. Hasan (Consultant)

The ward treats patients with schizophrenia or another psychotic illness. It has 24 inpatient beds and can accommodate five day care patients. A large multidisciplinary team consisting of three doctors, psychologists, several occupational therapists, 16 nurses (including six specialist nurses) and a social worker ensures that our patients receive optimal care, diagnosis and treatment.

Main priorities

We mainly diagnose and treat non-affective psychoses, for example schizophrenia, acute polymorphic psychotic disorder and persistent delusional disorder. The thinking, perception, feeling, will and behaviour of patients with these illnesses are changed in peculiar ways. The way patients experience the world can be influenced by delusional thoughts (misinterpretations of the environment) or hallucinations (false perceptions). In addition, their concentration and capabilities are often affected.

A second focus of our work is the diagnosis and treatment of unclear behavioural changes in young adults, with the aim to improve the early detection of psychotic disorders.

Treatment concept

We work according to national and international diagnosis and treatment guidelines for schizophrenia and other psychotic illnesses.

We always perform an extensive psychiatric-psychotherapeutic and physical differential diagnosis. To do so, we conduct standardised interviews and symptom questionnaires, perform a detailed internal-neurological examination, measure various traditional and modern laboratory parameters (neurological examination of the cerebrospinal fluid) and run various imaging and functional tests (mainly EEG and MRT).
Each diagnostic step is discussed in detail with you.

We offer all modern treatment approaches for schizophrenias and other psychotic illnesses. These include e.g. pharmacotherapy, individual and group psychotherapy (cognitive behavioural therapy to treat the symptoms of schizophrenia; psychoeducation; meta-cognitive training), specific occupational therapy, training of everyday skills and support in returning to work.

In addition, we perform special treatments with modern and traditional stimulation methods. These include repetitive transcranial magnet stimulation, for example, and electroconvulsive therapy.


We are involved in the development of national and international treatment guidelines. We also investigate the biological causes of various psychotic illnesses and offer various modern treatment studies.

Station B2 | Spezialstation für Schizophrenien und andere psychotische Erkrankungen

img_b2Leitung

Oberarzt PD Dr. A. Hasan

Die Station bietet 24 stationäre und fünf teilstationäre Therapieplätze für Patienten mit einer Schizophrenie oder anderen psychotischen Erkrankungen. Ein großes multidisziplinäres Team aus drei Ärzten/innen, Psychologen/innen, mehreren Ergotherapeuten/innen, 16 Pflegekräften (davon sechs Fachpflegekräfte) und einer Sozialpädagogin sorgt für eine optimale Betreuung, Diagnostik und Behandlung unserer PatientInnen.


Schwerpunkte

Wir diagnostizieren und behandeln schwerpunktmäßig nicht-affektive Psychosen. Hierzu zählen beispielsweise die Schizophrenie, die akut-polymorph psychotische Störung oder die anhaltend wahnhafte Störung. Bei diesen Erkrankungen ist das Denken, Wahrnehmen, Fühlen, Wollen und Verhalten der Patienten eigenartig verändert. Ihr Erleben kann durch Wahngedanken (Fehlinterpretationen der Umwelt) oder Halluzinationen (Trugwahrnehmungen) beeinflusst werden. Daneben sind oft die Konzentration und die Leistungsfähigkeit beeinträchtigt.

Ein zweiter Schwerpunkt ist die Diagnostik und Therapie bei unklaren Verhaltensänderungen im jungen Erwachsenenalter zur Früherkennung von psychotischen Erkrankungen.


Behandlungskonzept

Wir arbeiten auf der Grundlage von nationalen und internationalen Diagnose- und Behandlungsleitlinien für die Schizophrenien und andere psychotische Erkrankungen.

Das Konzept umfasst stets eine ausführliche psychiatrisch-psychotherapeutische und somatische Differentialdiagnostik. Dabei setzen wir standardisierte Interviews und Symptomfragebögen sowie eine ausführlich internistisch-neurologische Untersuchung, die Bestimmung verschiedenster klassischer und moderner Laborparameter (neurologische Untersuchung des Nervenwassers) und verschiedene bildgebende und funktionelle Untersuchungen (v.a. EEG und MRT) ein.
Jeder diagnostische Schritt wird ausführlich mit Ihnen besprochen.

Wir bieten alle modernen Therapie-Verfahren für Schizophrenien und andere psychotische Erkrankungen an. Dazu gehören z.B. Pharmakotherapie, Einzel- und Gruppenpsychotherapie (Kognitive Verhaltenstherapie zur Behandlung von Symptomen der Schizophrenie, Psychoedukation, Meta-kognitives Training), spezifische Ergotherapie und Training der Alltagskompetenzen und die Unterstützung der Rückkehr in den beruflichen Alltag.

Daneben führen wir Spezialtherapien mit modernen und klassischen Stimulationsverfahren durch. Hierzu zählen beispielsweise die repetitive transkranielle Magnetstimulation und die Elektrokonvulsionsbehandlung.


Forschung

Wir wirken in der Entwicklung von nationalen und internationalen Therapierichtlinien mit, erforschen die biologischen Ursachen verschiedener psychotischer Erkrankungen und bieten verschiedene moderne Therapiestudien an.