Startseite » About us » History » Planning and construction

Planning and construction

history_bau

1900

We owe the construction of the Royal Psychiatric University Hospital to Anton Bumm. He was a full professor of psychiatry and at the same time the director of the Upper Bavarian Mental Asylum, as it was then called. Bumm proposed building a university hospital that included a city asylum with 100 beds because he thought it would be advantageous for research, treatment and medical teaching. Under his leadership a commission started to plan the psychiatric hospital on the site of the other hospitals on the left side of the river Isar. The City of Munich provided a building site, located at the corner of Nussbaumstrasse and Goethestrasse, from the hospital foundation’s property. In return, the university had to commit itself to accepting and examining the mentally ill people of the city of Munich. In order to devote himself completely to the construction of the psychiatric hospital, in November 1900 Anton Bumm asked to be dismissed as director of the district mental asylum.

1901

Anton Bumm signed a contract that obligated him to become director of the new hospital. He dealt intensively and in detail with questions concerning the construction and amenities of the building. He was assisted by the architect Max Littmann, who at the time was one of the best-known architects in Germany – especially for public buildings. In addition to the anatomical institute, Schack Gallery and Prinzregententheater, Littmann also designed the Hofbräuhaus am Platzl in Munich. The königliche Hoftheater in Stuttgart, the city theaters in Bozen and Posen, the Grand Ducal Court Theater in Weimar and the Schiller Theatre in Berlin are also based on his designs.

1902

Construction was started by Heilmann and Littmann in August, and commissioning was planned for the end of 1904. However, Anton Bumm did not live to see that day because he died surprisingly after a gall bladder operation.

1904

The new hospital building was opened in November under the direction of Emil Kraepelin, who left Heidelberg and was appointed as Chair of the Department of Psychiatry in Munich.

Startseite » Über uns » Historie » Planung und Bau

Planung und Bau

history_bau

1900

Anton Bumm ist der Bau der Königlich Psychiatrischen Universitätsklinik zu verdanken. Er war in München Ordinarius für Psychiatrie und zugleich Direktor der Oberbayerischen Irrenanstalt, wie es damals hieß. Bumm schlug eine Kombination aus Universitätsklinik und Stadtasyl mit 100 Betten vor, weil er darin Vorteile für Forschung, Behandlung und den medizinischen Unterricht sah. Unter seiner Leitung begann eine Kommission die Psychiatrische Klinik auf dem Areal der anderen Kliniken links der Isar zu planen. Die Stadt München stellte dafür einen Bauplatz an der Ecke Nußbaumstraße/Goethestraße aus dem Eigentum der Krankenhausstiftung zur Verfügung. Im Gegenzug musste sich die Universität verpflichten, die Geisteskranken der Stadt München vorübergehend aufzunehmen und zu untersuchen. Um sich ganz dem Bau der Psychiatrischen Klinik widmen zu können, bat Anton Bumm im November 1900 um seine Amtsenthebung als Direktor der Kreisirrenanstalt.

1901

Anton Bumm unterschrieb einen Vertrag, der ihn dazu verpflichtete, die Direktion der neuen Klinik zu übernehmen. Er beschäftigte sich intensiv und detailliert mit Bau- und Einrichtungsfragen. Dabei half ihm der Architekt Max Littmann, der zur damaligen Zeit einer der bekanntesten Architekten Deutschlands war – insbesondere für öffentliche Gebäude. Er entwarf neben der anatomischen Anstalt, der Schack-Galerie und dem Prinzregententheater auch den Neubau des Hofbräuhauses am Platzl in München. Das königliche Hoftheater in Stuttgart, die Stadttheater in Bozen und Posen, das großherzogliche Hoftheater in Weimar und das Schiller-Theater in Berlin gehen ebenfalls auf Entwürfe von Max Littmann zurück.

1902

Im August wurde der Bau von Heilmann und Littmann begonnen, die Inbetriebnahme war für das Jahresende 1904 vorgesehen. Dies sollte Anton Bumm nicht mehr erleben. Er starb überraschend nach einer Gallenblasenoperation.

1904

Das neue Klinikgebäude wurde im November unter der Leitung von Emil Kraepelin eröffnet. Er wurde aus Heidelberg auf den Lehrstuhl für Psychiatrie nach München berufen.