Startseite » Research » Research areas » Psychotherapy » Psychotherapy Research

Working Group on Psychotherapy Research

Main areas of interest:

  • Interpersonal experience and behaviour / Experimental psychopathology / Psychotherapy of complex affective disorders (chronic depression, borderline personality disorder, trauma-related disorders)
  • Social exclusion / Social rejection / Ostracism / Social conflict resolution
  • Oxytocin system


Dr. med. Andrea Jobst, Prof. Dr. med. Frank Padberg

Co-direction:  Prof. Dr. Dipl-Psych. Julia Dewald-Kaufmann (Hochschule Fresenius), Dr. Richard Musil

Main focus:

The main focus of our research is the psychopathology of chronic affective disorders, in particular chronic depression and borderline personality disorder. We thereby focus on the social problems that patients with these disorders experience in their everyday lives and that significantly affect their quality of life. Our aim is to identify the pathomechanisms of interpersonal behaviour patterns and clinically observable pathologies and to study the effects of experiencing social rejection and trauma. In our research projects we use the methods of experimental psychopathology in particular. During behavioural experiments we model pathomechanisms and study them with techniques from peripheral physiology and neurochemistry. For example, we study the relationship between the oxytocin system and both the experience of social exclusion and the capacity for social conflict resolution. Another focus of our research is the use of neurobiological methods to study the effects of psychotherapy, e.g. by studying changes in the oxytocin system at the genetic, epigenetic and physiological levels before and after psychotherapy.

We are also interested in clarifying normal mental processes and their relevance for socio-psychological contexts.

Based on the knowledge from our work, the main objectives of our research are to improve the understanding of neurobiological processes in mental illnesses on the one hand and to further develop targeted psychotherapeutic interventions on the other.


  • Dr. med. Matthias Reinhard, MSc
  • Barbara Baron, MSc CV_DE, CV_EN
  • Prof. Dr. Dipl-Psych. Nina Sarubin (Hochschule Fresenius München) CV_DE, CV_EN
  • Stephan Goerigk, MSc CV_DE, CV_EN
  • Fabienne Große Wentrup, MSc
  • Doctoral students and psychology students


  • Prof. Dr. Eva-Lotta Brakemeier (Philipps University Marburg)
  • Prof. Dr. Anna Buchheim (Universität Innsbruck)
  • Dr. Torsten Wüstenberg (Charité Berlin)

Startseite » Forschung » Forschungsbereiche » Psychotherapie » Psychotherapieforschung

Arbeitsgruppe Psychotherapieforschung

Schwerpunkte:

  • Interpersonelles Erleben und Verhalten / Experimentelle Psychopathologie / Psychotherapie  komplexer affektiver Erkrankungen (chronische Depression, Borderline Persönlichkeitsstörung, Traumafolgestörungen)
  • Sozialer Ausschluss / soziale Zurückweisung / Ostrazismus / soziale Konfliktlösung
  • Oxytocinsystem

Leitung:

Dr. med. Andrea Jobst, Prof. Dr. med. Frank Padberg

Co-Leitung: Prof. Dr. Dipl-Psych. Julia Dewald-Kaufmann (Hochschule Fresenius), Dr. Richard Musil


Schwerpunktbeschreibung:

Unser Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Psychopathologie von chronisch affektiven Erkrankungen, zu denen insbesondere die chronische Depression und die Borderline Persönlichkeitsstörung zählen. Dabei liegt unser Fokus auf den sozialen Problemen, welche diese Patienten in ihrem Alltag erleben und welche deren Lebensqualität deutlich einschränken. Unser Ziel ist es Pathomechanismen von interpersonellen Verhaltensmustern sowie von klinisch beobachtbaren Pathologien zu identifizieren und dabei den Einfluss von Erfahrungen sozialer Zurückweisung und Traumata zu untersuchen. Bei unseren Forschungsprojekten kommen insbesondere die Methoden der Experimentellen Psychopathologie zum Einsatz. Im Rahmen von Verhaltensexperimenten werden Pathomechanismen modelliert und mit Methoden der peripheren Physiologie und Neurochemie untersucht. Beispielsweise untersuchen wir den Zusammenhang von sozialem Ausschlusserleben sowie von der Fähigkeit zu sozialer Konfliktlösung und dem Oxytocinsystem. Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt stellt die Untersuchung der Wirkung von Psychotherapie mit neurobiologischen Methoden dar, z.B. indem vor und nach einer Psychotherapie Veränderungen im Oxytocinsystem auf genetischer, epigenetischer und physiologischer Ebene untersucht werden.

Auch die Klärung normalpsychischer Vorgänge und deren Bedeutung für sozialpsychologische Zusammenhänge sind Inhalte unseres Forschungsgebiets.

Hauptziel unserer Forschung ist ausgehend von den Erkenntnissen aus unseren Arbeiten einerseits die Verbesserung des Verständnisses neurobiologischer Vorgänge seelischer Erkrankungen sowie andererseits die Weiterentwicklung zielgerichteter psychotherapeutischer Interventionen.


Mitarbeiter:

  • Dr. med. Matthias Reinhard, MSc
  • Barbara Baron, MSc CV_DE, CV_EN
  • Prof. Dr. Dipl-Psych. Nina Sarubin (Hochschule Fresenius München) CV_DE, CV_EN
  • Stephan Goerigk, MSc CV_DE, CV_EN
  • Fabienne Große Wentrup, MSc
  • Doktoranden und Psychologiestudenten

Kooperation:

  • Prof. Dr. Eva-Lotta Brakemeier (Philipps Universität Marburg)
  • Prof. Dr. Anna Buchheim (Universität Innsbruck)
  • Dr. Torsten Wüstenberg (Charité Berlin)