Our Lab

Adaptive immune responses in CNS autoimmunity, Emmy Noether group

Welcome to the lab of Anneli Peters, PhD

 

ag_peters

Group photo

Our Aim

Multiple Sclerosis (MS) is an autoimmune disease driven by self-reactive T helper (Th) cells, particularly Th1 and Th17 effector subsets, which promote tissue inflammation in the central nervous system (CNS). Research efforts both in MS patients, as well as in the animal model, experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis (EAE), have largely focused on T cells. However, recent therapeutic advances highlight the importance of B cells for disease development and progression. Notably, we discovered that Th17 cells attract B cells, and induce formation of ectopic lymphoid follicles (eLFs) in the CNS during EAE, suggesting that B cells and Th17 cells cooperate in pathogenic inflammatory processes. Therefore, we are investigating the interplay between autoantigen-specific B and Th17 cells during disease initiation and progression. We are interested in the underlying mechanisms of how Th17 cells shape a pathogenic B cell response, and – vice versa - how B cells can support a pathogenic Th17 response. Our research aims to provide insight into the cellular mechanisms and kinetics of disease and may enable development of more tailored therapeutic strategies in the future.

Our Approach

We are utilizing transgenic mouse models, which express an autoantigen-specific T cell receptor and spontaneously develop B cell-dependent disease, either with an acute-chronic or a relapsing-remitting disease course. Spontaneous models are particularly useful for studying the initial T:B cell interactions. We also induce EAE by adoptive transfer in order to be able to differentiate between Th1 and Th17 effects.

To analyze T and B cell responses we employ different techniques including flow cytometry, ELISA and quantitative PCR. In addition, we visualize and analyze T:B cell interactions in the tissues via confocal and intravital microscopy (collaboration with Kawakami Lab). With our cell culture systems we can manipulate T and B cells, in order to gain insight into the molecular basis of pathogenic properties.

Our Support

Our research is mainly funded by the Emmy Noether Programme from the German Research Foundation. Additionally we are supported by the ARSEP foundation and are associated with the SFB/TR128: Initiating/effector versus regulatory mechanisms in Multiple Sclerosis – progress towards tackling the disease. PhD candidates can apply to the IMPRS Program.

Unser Labor

Adaptive Immunantwort in der ZNS Autoimmunität, Emmy Noether Nachwuchsgruppe

Willkommen bei der Arbeitsgruppe von Dr. rer. nat. Anneli Peters

 

ag_peters

Gruppenphoto unserer Forschungseinheit 

 

Unsere Ziele

Multiple Sklerose (MS) ist eine Autoimmunerkrankung des zentralen Nervensystems (ZNS), in der die Entzündungsprozesse von T Helferzellen, insbesondere von Th1 und Th17 Effektor T Zellen vorangetrieben werden. Daher hat sich die Forschung sowohl in MS Patienten als auch im Tiermodell, der experimentellen autoimmunen Enzephalomyelitis (EAE), lange Zeit auf T Zellen konzentriert. Allerdings weisen die therapeutischen Erfolge der B Zell-Depletionstherapie darauf hin, dass auch B Zellen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Krankheitsentstehung spielen. Wir konnten im Tiermodell nachweisen, dass vor allem Th17 Zellen in pathogenen Entzündungsprozessen mit B Zellen kooperieren, da sie die Einwanderung von B Zellen sowie die Bildung ektopischer lymphoider Strukturen im ZNS fördern. Deshalb wollen wir die Interaktionen zwischen autoreaktiven B Zellen und Th17 Zellen bei Entstehung und Progression der Krankheit detailliert untersuchen. Wir wollen verstehen, durch welche Mechanismen Th17 Zellen pathogene B Zellen induzieren und – vice versa – ob und wie B Zellen die Entstehung pathogener Th17 Zellen fördern können. Unsere Forschung soll Einblick in die zellulären Mechanismen und zeitlichen Abläufe der Krankheitsentstehung geben, um zukünftig spezifischere therapeutische Strategien entwickeln zu können.

 

Unser Ansatz

Wir nutzen transgene Mausmodelle, die Autoantigen-spezifische T Zellrezeptoren exprimieren und spontan eine B Zell-abhängige EAE mit akut-chronischem oder schubförmigem Verlauf entwickeln. Aufgrund der spontanen Krankheitsentwicklung sind diese Modelle besonders geeignet, die initialen T:B Zell Interaktionen zu untersuchen. Außerdem induzieren wir EAE durch adoptiven Transfer, da hier zwischen Th17 und Th1 Effekten unterschieden werden kann.

T Zell und B Zellantworten werden mit Hilfe verschiedener Techniken wie z.B. Durchflusszytometrie, ELISA und quantitativer PCR analysiert. Außerdem werden T:B Zellinteraktionen mit Hilfe von konfokaler und intravitaler Mikroskopie (Kollaboration mit AG Kawakami) direkt im Gewebe visualisiert. In unseren Zellkultursystemen können wir die Eigenschaften von T und B Zellen manipulieren, um die molekularen Grundlagen pathogener Eigenschaften besser verstehen zu können.
 

Unsere Unterstützung

Unsere Forschung wird primär durch das Emmy Noether Programm der DFG unterstützt. Außerdem erhalten wir Unterstützung von der ARSEP Stiftung und sind assoziiert mit dem SFB/TR128: Initiierungs-, Effektor- und Regulationsmechanismen bei Multipler Sklerose – von einem neuen Verständnis der Pathogenese zur Therapie. Naturwissenschaftliche Doktoranden können sich für das IMPRS Programm bewerben.

 

 
EN