Our Lab

Immunopathogenesis of Multiple Sclerosis

Welcome to the lab of Edgar Meinl, MD

 

AG Meinl Gruppenfoto

Group photo of our lab

 

Our Aims

  1. Multiple sclerosis is an inflammatory and demyelinating disease. The pathology of this disease is characterized by persisting immune cells in the CNS, antibody production inside of the brain, demyelination with limited remyelination and axonal damage. The complex interplay between invading immune cells and brain resident cells determines the development of MS lesions. We aim to get further insight into this complex microenvironment inside of the MS lesions.
  2. Evidence is accumulating that B cells and antibodies contribute to disease development. We aim to develop assays to detect and to characterize autoantibodies of MS patients.
  3. The number of immunomodulatory treatments to modify the disease course of MS continues to increase. We aim to improve our understanding of the mechanisms behind these treatments and to monitor the individual response towards an optimized therapy.

 

Our Approaches

  1. One starting point is the histopathological and molecular analysis of MS tissue lesions, which we obtained from different brain banks. We dissect defined lesions and perform an expression profiling e.g. with quantitative PCR. Functional effects are then are explored in vitro with glial and human immune cell cultures.
  2. We use myelin glycoproteins, two-dimensional Western blot, immunoprecipitation and mass spectrometry to identify novel candidate targets. We apply transfected cells, ELISAs and functional assays with an in vitro myelination system to identify and characterize autoantibodies.
  3. We analyze blood samples from MS patients to monitor the individual treatment response using quantitative PCR and flow cytometry. Our cell culture systems with glial cells and immune cells are used to study mechanisms of disease modifying drugs in vitro.

 

Our Support

Our research group is supported by the newly established collaborative research centre TRR 128 “Initiating/effector versus regulatory mechanisms in multiple sclerosis”. Further support of our lab comes from the Federal Competence Network on Multiple Sclerosis  Federal Competence Network on Multiple Sclerosis (BMBF), the Hertie Foundation, SyNergy - Munich Cluster for Systems Neurology, Network of Centres of Excellence in Neurodegeneration (COEN), and industrial grants. Most of the MD students have been funded by the FöFoLe program of the LMU.

 

 
DE

Director

Prof. Dr.

Martin Kerschensteiner

Contact  

Group Leader

Prof. Dr.

Edgar Meinl

Contact 

Important links

Unser Labor

Immunopathogenese der Multiplen Sklerose

Willkommen bei der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. med. Edgar Meinl

 

AG Meinl Gruppenfoto

Gruppenphoto unserer Forschungseinheit

 

Unsere Ziele

  1. Die Multiple Sklerose ist eine entzündliche Erkrankung des zentralen Nervensystems (ZNS). Die Pathologie dieser Erkrankung ist gekennzeichnet durch persistierende Immunzellen im ZNS, Antikörperproduktion innerhalb des ZNS, Entmarkung mit begrenzter Reparatur der Markscheiden und einer Schädigung der Nervenfasern (Axone). Das Zusammenwirken von eindringenden Immunzellen und hirneigenen Zellen bestimmt die Entwicklung der MS Läsionen. Wir versuchen weitere Einblicke in dieses komplexe Milieu im ZNS von MS-Pateinten zu erzielen.
  2. B Zellen und Autoantikörper bilden einen Mosaikstein in dieser komplizierten Erkrankung. Wir arbeiten an der Entwicklung von Assays, um Autoantikörper nachzuweisen und zu charakterisieren.
  3. Die Therapiemöglichkeiten der MS haben sich durch viele neue immunmodulierende Präparate in den letzten Jahren sehr verbessert. Wir versuchen die Wirkungsmechanismen dieser Präparate besser zu verstehen, das Ansprechen auch Labor-technisch zu beurteilen und so die individuelle Therapie zu optimieren.

 

Unser Ansatz

  1. Ein Ausgangspunkt unserer Arbeit ist die mikroskopische und molekulare Analyse von MS-Läsionen, die wir von verschiedenen Hirnbanken bekommen haben. Wir dissektieren ausgewählte Läsionen und bestimmen Expressionsprofile z.B. mit quantitativer PCR. Funktionelle Effekte von Proteinen, die als reguliert identifiziert worden sind, werden in vitro mit Immunzell- und Gliazellkulturen untersucht.
  2. Wir verwenden Myelin Glykoproteine, zwei-dimensionale Gelelektrophorese, Immunopräzipitation und Massenspektrometrie um neue Autoantigene zu identifizieren. Wir setzen transfizierte Zellen, ELISAs und funktionelle Assays mit einem in vitro Myelinisierungssystem ein, um Autoantikörper zu charakterisieren.
  3. Wir analysieren Blutproben von MS Patienten, um die immunologischen Effekte der Therapie zu beurteilen. Dazu setzen wir die quantitative PCR und die Durchflußzytometrie ein. Mit unseren Zellkultursystemen untersuchen wir die Wirkungsmechanismen immunmodulierender Substanzen.

 

Unsere Unterstützung

Unsere Forschung wird unterstützt von dem neu etablierten SFB/TR128: Initiierungs-, Effektor- und Regulationsmechanismen bei Multipler Sklerose – von einem neuen Verständnis der Pathogenese zur Therapie, dem Kompetenznetz Multiple Sklerose des BMBF, der Gemeinnützigen-Hertie-Stiftung, dem Verein zur Therapieforschung für MS Kranke, SyNergy - Munich Cluster for Systems Neurology, Network of Centres of Excellence in Neurodegeneration (COEN), und Industriegelder. Medizindoktoranden werden in der Regel von dem Promotionsstudium Molekulare Medizin des FöFoLe Programms der LMU unterstützt.

 

 
EN

Direktion

Prof. Dr.

Reinhard Hohlfeld

Kontakt  


Prof. Dr.

Martin Kerschensteiner

Kontakt  

Gruppenleiter

Prof. Dr.

Edgar Meinl

Kontakt 

Wichtige Links