Our Lab

Neurobiology of Multiple Sclerosis

Welcome to the lab of Martin Kerschensteiner, MD

 

ag_kerschensteiner_gruppenfoto

Group photo (with Bareyre Lab and Misgeld Lab, TUM)

 

Our Aim

In multiple sclerosis infiltrating immune cells damage resident cells of the nervous system such as neurons and oligodendrocytes. This structural damage is responsible for the irreversible functional deficits in patients with multiple sclerosis. The aim of our work is to better understand how immune cells cause nervous system damage and use this knowledge to develop novel treatment strategies that limit tissue damage in multiple sclerosis.

Our Approach

We use in vivo imaging techniques in combination with viral and transgenic labelling to follow in real-time the cellular and molecular interactions that underlie tissue damage in animal models of multiple sclerosis. Based on these insights into the in vivo pathogenesis we then use genetic and pharmacological manipulations to design and evaluate new therapeutic strategies that foster tissue protection and repair.

Our Support

Our Research Unit has been established with funds from Institute of Clinical Neuroimmunology, the Verein “Therapieforschung für MS-Kranke e.V.”, as well as generous private donations. Our current work is supported by multiple national and international funding agencies including the German National Science Foundation (DFG), the Hertie Foundation (Multiple Sklerosis Program), the German Federal Ministry for Research and Education (BMBF) as well as a Starting Grant of the European Research Council (ERC). We are part of several local and national research consortia including the Excellence Cluster „SyNergy – Munich Cluster for Systems Neurology“, the Collaborative Research Centres TRR 128 („Initiating/effector versus regulatory mechanisms in multiple sclerosis“) and 870 („Assembly and function of neuronal circuits in sensory processing“) as well as the Federal Competence Network on Multiple Sclerosis.

 
DE

Director

Prof. Dr.

Reinhard Hohlfeld

Contact  


Prof. Dr.

Martin Kerschensteiner

Contact  

Important links

Unser Labor

Neurobiologie der Multiplen Sklerose

Willkommen bei der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. med. Martin Kerschensteiner

 

ag_kerschensteiner_gruppenfoto

Gruppenphoto unserer Forschungseinheit

 

Unsere Ziele

Bei der Multiplen Sklerose wandern Entzündungszellen in das Gehirn und Rückenmark und schädigen dort Nerven- und Gliazellen. Diese strukturelle Schädigung des Nervensystems ist verantwortlich für die bleibenden funktionellen Einschränkungen von Patienten mit Multipler Sklerose. Ziel unserer Arbeit ist es, zu verstehen, wie Entzündungszellen das Nervengeweben schädigen und aufbauend auf diesen Erkenntnisse neue Therapiestrategien zu entwickeln, die Multiple Sklerose Patienten vor der entzündlichen Gewebsschädigung schützen.

Unser Ansatz

Wir verwenden modernen in-vivo-Mikroskopieverfahren in Verbindung mit transgenen und viralen Markierungstechniken um die zellulären und molekularen Mechanismen der entzündlichen Gewebsschädigung „live“ im lebenden Gewebe darzustellen. Auf Basis dieser Einblicke in die in-vivo-Pathogenese verwenden wir dann genetische und pharmakologische Ansätze zur Entwicklung neuer neuroprotektiver und neuroregenerativer Therapiestrategien.

Unsere Unterstützung

Die Gründung unserer Forschungseinheit wurde durch die Unterstützung des Instituts für Klinische Neuroimmunologie, des Vereins „Therapieforschung für MS-Kranke e.V.“ sowie von grosszügigen privaten Spenden ermöglicht. Unsere aktuellen Forschungsprojekte werden von zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Fördereinrichtungen wie der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), der Gemeinnützigen Hertie Stiftung (Multiple Sklerose Programm), dem Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) sowie einem Consolidator Grant des European Research Councils (ERC)gefördert. Wir sind Teil mehrerer lokaler und nationaler Forschungsverbünde wie dem Exzellenzcluster „SyNergy – Munich Cluster for Systems Neurology“, den Sonderforschungsbereichen TR 128 („Initiierungs-, Effektor- und Regulationsmechanismen bei Multipler Sklerose“) und 870 („Bildung und Funktion neuronaler Schaltkreise in sensorischen Systemen“) sowie des nationalen Kompetenznetzes Multiple Sklerose.

 
EN

Direktion

Prof. Dr.

Reinhard Hohlfeld

Kontakt  


Prof. Dr.

Martin Kerschensteiner

Kontakt  

Wichtige Links