Our Lab

Spinal Cord Repair

Welcome to the lab of Florence Bareyre, PhD

 

ag_bareyre_gruppenfoto

Group photo

 

Our Aim

Traumatic, ischemic and inflammatory lesions to the spinal cord lead to the transection of descending and ascending axonal tract systems. If these lesions are complete – i.e. if all axons in the spinal cord are transected – severe and persistent functional deficits ensue. If however the lesions are incomplete and some axonal tracts are spared, some recovery of function can be observed. We are studying the anatomical, functional and molecular mechanisms underlying the recovery process in an attempt to develop new therapeutic strategies that can support spinal cord repair in neurological disease caused by trauma, ischemia or inflammation.

 

Our Approach

Over the recent years we have used the rodent corticospinal tract – a major descending motor pathway – to study how axonal connections remodel in response to injury. We could identify the de novo formation of intraspinal detour circuits as a key remodelling process that mediates recovery of function. We are currently using (i) anterograde, retrograde and trans-synaptic tracing techniques in combination with confocal microscopy to reveal the anatomy of spinal detour circuits, (ii) genetic and pharmacological manipulations to dissect the molecular interactions that regulate detour circuit formation and (iii) electrophysiological recordings and behavioural testing to assess effects on functional recovery.

 

Our Support

Our research group is supported by an independent group leader award from the German Federal Ministry for Research and Education (BMBF). We are further part of several research consortia funded by the German National Science Foundation (DFG) ) including the Excellence Cluster “SyNergy – Munich Cluster for Systems Neurology“, the  Collaborative Research Centres 870 („Assembly and function of neuronal circuits in sensory processing”)and the Graduate School of Systemic Neurosciences (GSNLMU) as well as the Munich Center for Neurosciences (MCNLMU).

 

 
DE

Director

Prof. Dr.

Reinhard Hohlfeld

Contact  


Prof. Dr.

Martin Kerschensteiner

Contact  

Group Leader

Dr.

Florence Bareyre

Contact 

Important links

Unser Labor

Spinale Plastizität

Willkommen bei der Arbeitsgruppe von Dr. rer. nat. Bareyre

 

ag_bareyre_gruppenfoto

Gruppenphoto unserer Forschungseinheit 

 

Unser Ziel

Traumatische, ischämische und entzündliche Läsionen des Rückenmarks führen zur Schädigung von deszendierenden und aszendierenden axonalen Traktsystemen. Wenn diese Läsionen komplett sind – also das gesamte Rückenmark durchtrennt ist – bleiben irreversible schwere Funktionsausfälle zurück. Wenn aber noch Teile des Rückenmarks erhalten sind, kann es in einem gewissen Umfang zur funktionellen Erholung kommen. Wir untersuchen die anatomischen, funktionellen und molekularen Grundlagen dieses Erholungsprozesses um aufbauend auf diesen Erkenntnissen neue Therapiestrategien entwickeln zu können, die die Rückbildung neurologische Ausfälle verbessern können.

 

Unser Ansatz

Wir nutzen das kortikospinale Traktsystem von Mäusen als Modell, um zu untersuchen, wie sich axonale Verbindungen nach einer Verletzung des Rückenmarks reorganisieren. In den letzten Jahren konnten wir zeigen, dass die Neubildung sogenannter intraspinaler axonaler Umgehungswege („intraspinal detour circuits“) entscheidend zur funktionellen Erholung beiträgt. In unserer aktuellen Forschung verwenden wir (i) anterograde, retrograde  und trans-synaptische Tracing Techniken in Kombination mit konfokaler Mikroskopie, um die anatomischen Grundlagen der axonalen Reorganisation zu verstehen, (ii) genetische und pharmakologische Manipulationen, um die molekularen Regulatoren des Reorganisationsprozesses zu identifizieren und (iii) verhaltensphysiologische und elektrophysiologische Techniken, um das Ausmass der funktionellen Erholung zu bestimmen.

 

Unsere Unterstützung

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe wird als unabängige Nachwuchsgruppe durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unterstützt. Weiterhin sind wir Teil verschiedener von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) unterstützter Forschungsverbünde wie dem Excellence Cluster “SyNergy – Munich Cluster für Systemneurologie“, dem Sonderforschungsbereich 870 („Bildung und Funktion neuronaler Schaltkreise in sensorischen Systemen”) und der Graduiertenschule für Systemische Neurowissenschaften (GSNLMU) sowie des Münchener Zentrums für Neurowissenschaften (MCNLMU).

 

 
EN

Direktion

Prof. Dr.

Reinhard Hohlfeld

Kontakt  


Prof. Dr.

Martin Kerschensteiner

Kontakt  

Gruppenleiter

PD Dr.

Florence Bareyre

Kontakt 

Wichtige Links