Home » People » Partners

The Netherlands

RIVM logo

RIVM: Netherlands National Institute for Public Health and the Environment - Centre Infectious Disease Control

The RIVM harbors European experts on quantitative microbial risk assessment and microbial exposure modeling, as exemplified through the WHO collaborating center for Risk Assessment of Pathogens in Water and Food. Research into water quality has been a core issue of the center for zoonoses and environmental microbiology during the last >10 years, and the RIVM constitutes the national knowledge hub for this subject. Beyond water quality, the RIVM represents a highly interdisciplinary environment with a multitude of expertise in environmental microbiology and risk assessment in general. The RIVM has strategical partnerships with relevant Universities and intensively cooperates with other research institutes in the Netherlands, as well as with relevant Ministries and other stakeholders from private and semi-public sectors, such as water boards.

Leading staff from the RIVM: Prof. Dr. Ana Maria de Roda Husman, Dr. Heike Schmitt

Other team members in AWARE: Dr. Hetty Blaak

Website: http://www.rivm.nl/


Romania

ICUB logo

UB: University of Bucharest - Research Institute of the University of Bucharest (ICUB) - Life, Environmental and Earth Sciences

The UB team has been involved in more than 40 national/international research projects concerning the study of the environmental and clinical reservoirs of resistance and virulence; study of microbial biofilms and of their phenotypic resistance (tolerance) to antimicrobials, using patented in vitro assay methods; development of novel antimicrobial strategies. The team includes two postdocs with expertise in the phenotypic and genotypic characterization of beta-lactam resistance in Gram-negative bacteria, one postdoc with experience in the isolation of ARB from WWTPs samples and one PhD student performing her PhD on the investigation of ARB and ARGs isolated from surface waters. 

Leading staff from the UB: Prof. Dr. Carmen Chifiriuc

Other team members in AWARE: Dr. Luminiţa Măruţescu

Website: http://icub.unibuc.ro/


Sweden

UGOT logo

UGOT: University of Gothenborg - Department of Infectious Diseases - Institute of Biomedicine 

Through the Centre for Antibiotic Resistance Research (CARe) led by Larsson, UGOT provides an integrated link to an interdisciplinary research environment with more than 80 scientists together addressing all thematic areas of the strategic research agenda of the JPI-AMR (diagnostics, surveillance, transmission, environment, therapeutics, and interventions). Larsson's own research group (+15 people) has particular experience in genomics, metagenomics and the interface between the external environment and the clinic. Larsson has worked with sewage effluents since the late 90s and has continued working with environmental pollution from within a medical faculty for the past 15 years, providing perspectives on the challenges from different angles through several long-term research programmes, UGOT has a strong network with many stakeholders from both the water and health sectors. 

Leading staff from the UGOT: Prof. Dr. Joakim Larsson

Other team members in AWARE: Dr. Carl-Fredrik Flach

Website: https://care.gu.se/


Germany

LMU logo

LMU: University Hospital - Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich - Institute and Clinic for Occupational, Social and Environmental Medicine

The LMU Institute for Occupational, Social and Environmental Medicine employs 40+ scientists from all different fields of occupational, social and environmental medicine. The Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Unit (personnel 10+) has long-standing experience in coordination of and participation in national and international studies in occupational and environmental epidemiology. It coordinated e.g., the European Farmer Study (funded by EU), a study on respiratory health among European Farmers. In this study, we gained experience in the inclusion of small-scale working units (farms) in large-scale epidemiologic studies. Furthermore, sampling microbial exposure at the individual level was part of the exposure assessment. The Lower Saxony Lung Study and its follow-up targeted at exposure assessment and health outcomes including MRSA of ~6000 neighbors of concentrated animal production facilities (CAFOS) in different towns of Northern Germany. A PhD project of this group evaluated the potential short-term health impact of working in compost production sites. The unit is a founding member of LMU’s Centre for International Health, one of five centers of excellence in development cooperation funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). The institute is WHO Collaborating Centre for Occupational Health. It cooperates with a large number of universities and research institutes throughout the world. 

Leading staff from the LMU: Prof. Dr. Katja Radon

Other team members in AWARE: Dr. Laura WengenrothDaloha Rodríguez-Molina, Lennart Neumann, Carolin Veit

Website: http://www.klinikum.uni-muenchen.de/

Startseite » Team » Partner

Die Niederlande

RIVM logo

RIVM: Nationales Institut für Public Health und Umwelt - Zentrum zur Kontrolle von Infektionskrankheiten

Das RIVM beherbergt europäische Experten zur quantitativen mikrobiellen Risikobewertung und mikrobiologischer Expositionsmodellierung, beispielhaft aufgezeigt am WHO Collaborating Center für Risikobewertung von Krankheitserregern im Wasser und in Nahrungsmitteln. Forschung über Wasserqualität war das Hauptthema des Centers für Zoonosen und Umweltmikrobiologie während der letzten >10 Jahren und das RIVM umfasst des Weiteren den nationalen Wissensmittelpunkt für dieses Feld. Neben der Wasserqualität, repräsentiert das RIVM ein hoch interdisziplinäres Umfeld mit einer Vielzahl an Expertisen in Umweltmikrobiologie und Risikobewertung im Allgemeinen. Das RIVM hat strategische Partnerschaften mit relevanten Universitäten und kooperiert intensiv mit anderen Forschungsinstitutionen in den Niederlanden sowie mit relevanten Ministerien und anderen Stakeholdern aus privaten und halbprivaten Feldern wie z.B. Wasserverbände.     

Leitendes Personal des RIVM: Prof. Dr. Ana Maria de Roda Husman, Dr. Heike Schmitt

Andere Teammitglieder in AWARE: Dr. Hetty Blaak

Internetseite: http://www.rivm.nl/


Rumänien

ICUB logo

UB: Universität Bukarest - Forschungsinstitut der Universität Bukarest (ICUB) - Lebens-, Umwelt- und Geowissenschaften

Das UB Team war in mehr als 40 nationalen/internationalen Forschungsprojekten involviert, die sich mit Umwelt- und Klinikreservoiren für Resistenz und Virulenz beschäftigen; mit mikrobiellen Biofilmen und ihrer phenotypischen Resistenz (Toleranz) gegenüber Antibiotika, durch die Verwendung von patentierten in vitro Assay Methoden und mit der Entwicklung neuer antimikrobieller Strategien. Das Team beinhaltet zwei Postdocs mit Expertise in phenotypischer und genotypischer Charakterisierung von Beta-Laktam Resistenz in Gram-negativen Bakterien. Ein Postdoc ist außerdem erfahren in der Isolation von ARB aus Kläranlagsproben und ein Doktorand schreibt seine Arbeit über die Untersuchung von ARB und ARGs, welche aus Oberflächewasser isoliert werden.

Leitendes Personal der UB: Prof. Dr. Carmen Chifiriuc

Andere Teammitglieder in AWARE: Dr. Luminiţa Măruţescu

Internetseite: http://icub.unibuc.ro/


Schweden

UGOT logo

UGOT: Universität Göteborg - Department für Übertragbare Krankheiten - Institut für Biomedizin 

Durch das von Larsson geleitete Centre for Antibiotic Resistance Research (CARe), bietet die UGOT eine integrierte Verbindung zu einer interdisziplinären Forschungsumgebung mit mehr als 80 Wissenschaftlern, die sich zusammen mit allen thematischen Feldern der strategischen Forschungsagenda des JPI-AMR (Diagnostik, Surveillance, Übetragung, Umwelt, Therapeutika und Interventionen) beschäftigen. Larssons eigene Forschergruppe (+15 Personen) hat speziell Erfahrung in Genomik, Metagenomik und der Schnittstelle zwischen externer Umwelt und der Klinik. Larsson forschte seit den späten 90ern an Abwasser und fuhr in den letzten 15 Jahren fort mit der Erforschung von Umweltverschmutzung, welche von medizinische Einrichtungen verursacht wird. Dadurch ermöglicht er neue Perspektiven für die Herausforderungen durch mehrere Langzeit-Forschungsprojekte. Des Weiteren verfügt die UGOT über ein starkes Netzwerk zu vielen Stakeholdern aus dem Wasser- und Gesundheitssektor.  

Leitendes Personal der UGOT: Prof. Dr. Joakim Larsson

Andere Teammitglieder in AWARE: Dr. Carl-Fredrik Flach

Internetseite: https://care.gu.se/


Deutschland

LMU logo

LMU: University Hospital - Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich - Institute and Clinic for Occupational, Social and Environmental Medicine

Das der LMU angehörige Institut für Arbeits-, Sozial- und Umweltmedizin beschäftigt mehr als 40 Wissenschaftler aus allen unterschiedlichen Feldern. Die Abteilung für Arbeitsmedizin und Umweltepidemiologie (10+ Mitarbeiter) hat langjährige Erfahrung in der Koordination von und Teilnahme bei nationalen und internationalen Studien zu Arbeits- und Umweltepidemiologie. Es wurden z.B. die Europäsche Farmer Studie koordiniert (gefördert durch die EU), eine Studie über die Gesundheit der Atemwege europäischer Bauern. In dieser Studie sammelten wir Erfahrung im Einschluss von Arbeitseinrichtungen im Kleinformat (Bauernhöfe) in Epidemiologische Studien im Großformat. Des Weiteren war die Probeentnahme bezüglich mikrobieller Expostition auf individueller Ebene Teil der Expositionsanalyse. Die Niedersächsische Lungen-Studie und ihr Follow-Up, ausgerichtet auf die Untersuchung der Exposition und Gesundheitsfolgen inklusive MRSA von ca. 6000 Nachbarn von verdichteten Tierfütterungseinrichtungen (CAFOS) in unterschiedlichen Städten in Norddeutschland. Eine Dokorarbeit in dieser Gruppe evaluierte den potentiellen kurzfristigen Gesundheitseffekt von Arbeit auf Kompost-Produktions-Stellen. Die Abteilung ist außerdem Gründungsmitglied des Centers for International Health der LMU, eines von fünf Exzellenzzentren für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ). Des Weiteren ist das Institut ein Collaborating Centre für Arbeitsmedizin. Es koopertiert mit einer großen Zahl von Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen weltweit.

Leitendes Personal der LMU: Prof. Dr. Katja Radon

Andere Teammitglieder in AWARE: Dr. Laura WengenrothDaloha Rodríguez-Molina, Lennart Neumann, Carolin Veit

Internetseite: http://www.klinikum.uni-muenchen.de/